Dobro Kuche. What my neighbors dog taught me about interpersonal communication.

About eight months ago me moved to a new neighborhood. We are very pleased with our new home and our neighbors are nice. We get to talk to them quite a bit due to our dog Lola. She has always been a public relations queen. She doesn’t miss one opportunity to run across the street to say hi to our friendly (thanks God) dog lover neighbors.

Right across the street there is a Bulgarian family whom owns a Pug dog. She is super cute and hugable and sweet. Every time I get out and see her, I walk across the street to pet her and tell her how pretty she is and cute and else…you get the picture here, hu? Well, she never shows any sign of receiving my overflowing love towards her. She just keeps on sitting on one side of her body and doesn’t even bother making eye contact with me. It frustrate me; but, I am a sucker for pups love so I try again and again every time I see her.

This past Saturday, I was coming back from a short walk and there she was. Cute as always! pink collar sparkling bright with blings!! And… sure enough I went right across the street to pet her, one more time. This time to my surprise, his owner ( probably feeling sorry about my repeated failed attempts of getting some ol’love back) told me: “what happens is that you speak English to her” I said: “What???” and then I  eagerly added”Teach me how to say{ good dog} in Bulgarian” He looked at me and said “Dobro Kuche”

What happened next was just magic: I looked at the doggie and said the words Dobro Kuche.tug

She immediately made eye contact with me and started running in circles. I kept on petting her and saying the magic words over and over and she accordingly kept on running around and coming back to me so happy and excited. To the point that she started coughing very bad and I had to stop due to too much love and excitement.  I know, apparently there is such a thing as too much love!

Isn’t that something?! It reminded me of all those past situations were I thought somebody didn’t care about me. Maybe it was a “lost in translation” kind of situation. Of course there were time when I am sure people plainly didn’t give a penny for my thoughts or feeling; However, I am choosing now to give people the gift of doubt. And I am gonna do my best to stick to it!

Two great things I learned from my neighbor dog:(as Don Miguel Ruiz said it)

1- Don’t take things personally: example: the dog doesn’t like me.

2-Do not make assumptions: she will never play with me.

I did one and two,  and at the end I was rewarded with the most effusive display of doggie affection!

imagesimages (1)

 

thanks for reading and like if you liked it and leave me a sharing comment 🙂

Natalia

http://www.thrive-massage.com

Facebook/thrivemassage

 

Leave a comment